Sunday Musical Meditation: The Polymnia Quartet

The Polymnia Quartet plays a set of related works by Beethoven and Mendelssohn. First, Ludwig van Beethoven’s Quartet No. 16 in F major, Op. 135. Written in October 1826, this piece was the last major work he completed. Next, Felix Mendelssohn’s String Quartet No. 2 in A minor, Op. 13, composed in 1827. Written when he was 18 years old, it is considered Mendelssohn’s first mature string quartet. The two works are connected by a common theme, Beethoven’s “Muß es sein?” question, “Must it be?” Come find the answer on December 9th at 5pm!

The event is finished.


Sunday Dec 09 2018


Suggested donation: $20


Sunday Musical Meditation
Marigny Opera House


Marigny Opera House
725 St. Ferdinand Street, New Orleans, LA 70117