Octeto Sicarú Guitar Ensemble with Nicholas Ciraldo

The decorated Octeto Sicarú makes its Marigny Opera House debut with a program of 20th century through contemporary Mexican guitar music on a set of eight hand-carved guitars that travel with their luthier. The Octet is joined by celebrated American Classical Guitarist Nicholas Ciraldo for Julio César Oliva’s México de mis sueños.  Ciraldo is an Associate Professor of Music at The University of Southern Mississippi, has played in Boston’s Jordan Hall, Berlin’s Berliner Dom, and Curitiba’s Teatro José Maria Santos, and won numerous international guitar competitions.

This Mexican guitar ensemble was established in 2010. The Octeto Sicarú has performed in Austria, Brazil, Croatia, Slovakia, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Uruguay, and the United States. In 2013, American guitarist William Kanengiser joined Octeto Sicarú to perform Shingo Fujii’s Concierto de Los Angeles. The term after which the ensemble takes its name reveals its intention; Sicarú is a Zapotec word meaning ‘beautiful’, and the ensemble adopts it in an spiritual sense.




Iván Maceda Vela

Harim Campos Reséndiz

Samuel Hernández Cortés

Humberto Gutiérrez Quintanar

Abraham Velásquez Cruz

Ricardo Hernández Reyes

Vicente Martínez Santillán

Rodrigo Lara Alonso

The event is finished.


Tuesday Jun 12 2018


Suggested Donation: $15 General Admission / $10 Student & Senior
Marigny Opera House


Marigny Opera House
725 St. Ferdinand Street, New Orleans, LA 70117